Le Havre, France

General Information

Regional secretariat

None

Le Havre, the City Rebuilt by Auguste Perret

Registration criteria

Criterion (ii): The post-war reconstruction plan of Le Havre is an outstanding example and a landmark of the integration of urban planning traditions and a pioneer implementation of modern developments in architecture, technology, and town planning.

Criterion (iv): Le Havre is an outstanding post-war example of urban planning and architecture based on the unity of methodology and system of prefabrication, the systematic use of a modular grid and the innovative exploitation of the potential of concrete.
 

Historical reference

The city of Le Havre, on the English Channel in Normandy, was severely bombed during the Second World War. The destroyed area was rebuilt according to the plan of a team headed by Auguste Perret, from 1945 to 1964. The site forms the administrative, commercial and cultural centre of Le Havre. Amongst many reconstructed cities, Le Havre is exceptional for its unity and integrity. It combines a reflection of the earlier pattern of the town and its extant historic structures with the new ideas of town planning and construction technology. It is an outstanding post-war example of urban planning and architecture based on the unity of methodology and the use of prefabrication, the systematic utilization of a modular grid, and the innovative exploitation of the potential of concrete.
 

Photos

Contact

M. Jean-Baptiste Gastinne

Maire du Havre
Ville du Havre

1517 place de l'Hôtel de Ville CS 40051
Le Havre, France

(33) 02 35 19 47 29
jean-baptiste.gastinne@lehavre.fr

Mme Sandrine Dunoyer

Adjointe au maire chargée de la culture, du patrimoine et des relations internationales
Ville du Havre

(33) 02 35 19 42 49
sandrine.dunoyer@lehavre.fr

Mme Alyson Meziane

Assistante - Relations Internationales
Ville du Havre

1517 place de l'Hôtel de Ville CS 40051
Le Havre, France

alyson.meziane@lehavre.fr

M. Samir El Keria

Chef de Cabinet
Ville du Havre

1517 place de l'Hôtel de Ville CS 40051
Le Havre, France

samir.el-keria@lehavre.fr

M. Michel Sironneau

Directeur de Cabinet
Ville du Havre

1517 place de l'Hôtel de Ville CS 40051
Le Havre, France

michel.sironneau@lehavre.fr

M. Erwan Coeffec

Ville du Havre

+33 02 35 19 49 29
erwan.coeffec@lehavre.fr

Mme Claire Baclet

Directrice générale adjointe chargée de la Culture
Ville du Havre

1517 place de l'Hôtel de Ville CS 40051
Le Havre, France

claire.baclet@lehavre.fr