The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage



To participate in this international competition, the participating city must be a member city in good standing of the OWHC.

The achievement must have been implemented during the last five (5) years directly by the candidate city or by a person or an organization supported, directed, or influenced by the candidate city. If the achievement was not implemented directly by the candidate city, the latter’s participation must have been significant.


The candidacy file must be sent via the OWHC website, and must contain the following documents:

  1. the registration form to be completed online:
  2. an executive summary (Letter or A4 format) of no more than three (3) pages that presents the achievement deserving of the Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage. This summary must be signed by the mayor of the city or his representative.
  3. any other relevant information, document or media file relating to the project, program or policy, that will facilitate the evaluation process.

The candidacy file submitted by the candidate city must be drawn up in one of the working languages of the OWHC: French, English or Spanish.


The candidacies will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

  • the exemplary nature of the project, program or policy for the conservation of urban cultural heritage;
  • the involvement of local stakeholders and the partnership development process;
  • the concrete outcomes of the project, program or policy on local communities and on the city
  • the pedagogical impact of the project, program or policy and its educational and enrichment value for the international community;
  • the contribution of the project, program or policy to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals, in particular of the SDG 11, and its commitment to build a more resilient future.


The jury is composed of:

  • one member of the Board of Directors of the OWHC;
  • three representatives of international organizations (UNESCO, ICOMOS and ICCROM);
  • one urban heritage specialist;
  • the Secretary General of the OWHC or her representative.


Cities may only submit one candidacy file.

There is no limit to the number of consecutive years during which a city may be a candidate. The OWHC reserves the right not to award the Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage for a given year.

If necessary, cities may be asked to provide the OWHC with additional multimedia documentation for public relations purposes. Any material provided must be copyright free.

< Back to main page

Technical Assistance and Cooperation


Activities of the Regional Secretariats