24 May 2013

Selection of the jury for the 2013 Jean-Paul L’Allier Prize

The Organization of World Heritage Cities is proud to present the jury members for the 2013 Jean-Paul L’Allier prize:  

  • Ms. Kerstin Manz, UNESCO World Heritage Centre
  • Ms. Sofia Avgerinou-Kolonias, ICOMOS, President of the CIVVIH
  • Ms. Regina Wiala-Zimm, chief executive of international relations for the city of Vienna, a city that is a member of the Board of Directors of the OWHC  
  • Mr. Bruno Delas, project manager for the city of Lyon and coordinator of the compilation of study cases produced by the OWHC  
  • Mr. Denis Ricard, secretary general of the OWHC

It must be noted that this prize bearing the name of the founder of the OWHC is awarded every second year to a city that is a member of the organization and that has distinguished itself by an achievement in terms of conservation, enhancement or management of property located on its territory, and that is inscribed on the World Heritage List.  

The mayor or the representative of the winning city will be the guest of honour of the OWHC at its 12th World Congress, which will be held in Oaxaca, Mexico, from November 19 to 22, 2013. The transportation, lodging, and meal expenses as well at the registration fees to the Congress will be assumed by the OWHC.  The winning city will also receive financial support from the OWHC of up to 3 000 $ CAN for the design and installation of an honorary plaque marking the obtainment of the Jean-Paul L’Allier Prize for Heritage. Finally, the OWHC will offer, through its Web site, visibility to the winning mayor and the winning city.

The by-laws of the competition and the registration form are available at http:// http://www.ovpm.org/en/jean_paul_lallier_prize_heritage. Cities wishing to enter the competition have until August 31, 2013, to do so.  


Chantale Émond
Project Officer – Youth Program and Jean-Pierre L’Allier Prize
[email protected]