The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage

Description of the prize

Every two (2) years, the Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage is awarded by the Organization of World Heritage Cities (OWHC) to one of its member cities in good standing.

The award highlights an achievement related to the conservation, enhancement or good management of a living urban ensemble or property within an urban context thanks, in part, to the commitment of its local communities. The urban ensemble or property must be located within the territory of an OWHC member city inscribed on the World Heritage List.

With this prize, the OWHC seeks to reward exemplary urban cultural heritage conservation; community engagement through the involvement of local stakeholders; concrete outcomes of the project on local communities; and, the learning experience upon which the international community might draw.

These guidelines are motivated by the OWHC’s desire to situate the prize within a movement initiated in 2007 by the World Heritage Committee that highlighted the role of communities, designating them as the fifth “C” of the strategic objectives of the World Heritage Convention.

This trend was further reinforced in 2011 through the adoption of the Recommendation on the Historic Urban Landscape which is inspired by local community traditions and urban concepts. This recommendation supports local communities in their efforts to develop and adapt, while recommending the preservation of characteristics and values linked to their history and collective memory.

In 2016, the OWHC brought its perspective to the Global Report on Culture for Sustainable Urban Development through a text entitled Resilient World Heritage Cities and their Communities. In it, the OWHC affirms that world heritage cities would be well advised to involve their local communities in city management because the communities might prove instrumental in helping them solve their problems.

On a global scale, this report underscores the prominent place of culture in the future of world urbanization. It is intended as a contribution from UNESCO to the common UN action towards a New Urban Agenda and is in line with the main entry point for culture in the framework of the 2030 Agenda under the Sustainable Development Goal on sustainable cities.

The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage echoes this objective every two years by honouring a project that ensures a sustainable future to a world heritage property in an urban setting and addresses concrete issues such as management and conservation of the living character of the property.

Requests for information

For any questions concerning the candidacy file or the Prize in itself, please contact Mr. Félix Rousseau at:


2019 – St. Petersburg (Russian Federation)
Redevelopment of industrial cultural heritage sites and their grounds for public projects

2017 – Quito (Ecuador)
Investment programs and projects for the rehabilitation of public space on private heritage property in the Historic Center

2015 – Cordoba (Spain)
The urban project and the cultural landscape: heritage, culture, trade and tourism – renovation of Cruz Conde street

2013 – Cuenca (Ecuador)
Integral rehabilitation project of the Tres de Noviembre Walkway, the de la Madre Park, the stairway, and the footbridge facing the University of Cuenca

2011 – Tunis (Tunisia)
Restoration and beautification project of a street circuit entitled “From Zitouna to Sidi Ibrahim

2009 – Warsaw (Poland)
Lighting of the walls of the Historic Centre


1 October 2019

Inauguration of the Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize plaque in St. Petersburg

Saint Petersburg, Russia

The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage

20 June 2019

Winning city of the 6th Edition of the Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage

Saint Petersburg, Russia

The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage

30 November 2018

The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage – Deadline extended!

The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage

11 December 2017

Quito, Ecuador – Winning city of the 5th Edition of the Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage

Quito, Ecuador

The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage

28 February 2017

Launching of the 5th edition of the Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage 2017

The Jean-Paul-L’Allier Prize for Heritage

Programs of the General Secretariat

Programs of the Regional Secretariats

Programs of the Cities