• Registration Year


  • Registered Sector

    Ragusa. Late Baroque Towns of the Val di Noto (South-Eastern Sicily)

Location and site

Registration Criteria

(C i, ii, iv, v)

Historical Reference

  • The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily: Caltagirone, Militello Val di Catania, Catania, Modica, Noto, Palazzolo, Ragusa and Scicli, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building.
M. Giuseppe Cassì
Sindaco da Ragusa
Sede Comunal
Corso Italia 72
97100 Ragusa, Sicilia, Italia
+39.(0)932 67.61.11
+39.(0)932 62.48.04