Scicli, Italy

General Information

Regional secretariat


Scicli. Late Baroque Towns of the Val di Noto (South-Eastern Sicily)

Registration Year


Registration criteria

(C i, ii, iv, v)

Historical reference

  • The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily: Caltagirone, Militello Val di Catania, Catania, Modica, Noto, Palazzolo, Ragusa and Scicli, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement.


M. Vincenzo Giannone

Comune di Scicli

+39.(0)932 83.91.11